Testimonials

'I very much enjoyed yesterday’s class and so full with inspiration now and would like to book a place for the upcoming garment making workshop at Milkwood'

Fran

 

'My Daughter (14 years) attended this course and by the end of the day we had made an apron in a christmas style with pocket! My wife still doesn't believe I made it (yes Im a bloke - I also played rugby! but found creating something so useful in one day amazing!). Helen as the tutor is great, there were 7 on the course - I think this is the maximum she takes, and I now feel competent in undertaking some small scale projects. My daughter loved it and wants to do more. looking forward to more courses Helen'. Stuart

 

'Just wanted to say what a great time I had today. It was good to know the proper way to do things rather than my "guessing" approach I've been using. I feel like I learnt so much today and can't wait to get creating! I was so giddy in the car on the way home & think I'm driving my hubby mad with all the sewing talk lol!!'

Lisa

 

'I really enjoyed the beginners sewing class, it was a nice relaxed atmosphere but I learned a lot. The group size was just right so that we all had individual attention. We learned all the basics as well as a lot of more advanced things that I didn't expect,  It was great to leave with a finished bag and I really appreciated that you let us work on past 4pm until we had all finished!

I have since used my handbag a lot and have received loads of compliments on it' :)

Kenzie

 

'I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed today's class.  Apart from the obvious learning curve of cutting out, bias binding, yokes and pintucks I also learnt to take my time and not try to rush things.  Very important to an impatient person. You explained things so clearly and patiently as well, not at all like other teachers I have known who just rush ahead and assume you know what they are talking about'

Maureen

 

'The class on saturday was really inspiring.  The garment we made was an excellent way to begin.  It was challenging and absorbing but I didn't feel at any point out of my depth - I attribute that to our excellent teacher!Thanks for all your help on Saturday and the previous Sunday'

Catherine

 

'I did enjoy what I learned in the first lesson and look forward to the next one.

You are a very good instructor Helen'

Pavine

 

 

 

Insert body text here...

the stitchery

learnt so much!

Beginners Sewing Workshop(Booked online with Hotcourses)

by Kate - June 2014

Overall Rating 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant course for beginners as Helen (who is lovely) takes you through all the basics. It's surprising how much is covered in one day and you leave feeling very inspired.... I even bought a sewing machine on the way home! If you're thinking about taking this class then definitely do!

Double click to insert body text here ...

Excellent!!

Sewing For Beginners (Part-Time Day Class)(Booked online with Hotcourses)

by Sheila - May 2014

Overall Rating 5 Stars

A very enjoyable course which packed a lot of information into 6 weeks and we all made a skirt which was wearable! Helen is very,very patient with all participants and so helpful in answering our never-ending questions. Excellent, enthusiastic instruction in a relaxed atmosphere.

Fab class for beginners!

Sewing For Beginners (Part-Time Day Class)(Booked online with Hotcourses)

by Wendy - May 2014

Overall Rating

Having not stitched a stitch in my life, I'd bought a sewing machine, which I didn't even know how to thread! Finding the class at The Stitchery was the best thing ever, as we went through all the basics with a very patient Helen. Lots of fun, a small class, so plenty of attention and I even made a skirt that I could wear! Would highly recommend, and am now keen to do more!

Fantastic!!!Beginners Sewing Workshop (Booked online with Hotcourses)by Doreen - February 2016 - Had a brilliant time and enjoyed the course.... Highly recommend this course for beginners :)

Beginners Sewing Workshop  lovely way to spend my Sunday - got to know my machine again after many years in the loft, and then learned loads of new techniques, and found answers to lots of little niggling problems I had had in the past. Came away with a pillow cover (with my first buttonhole ever!!!) and lots of enthusiasm. Helen is a great teacher - supportive, encouraging and with all of the expertise you need, alongside the patience to help each of us get the best out of the day... Highly recommended!!

Well worth doing!

by Nia - May 2015

WhatIntroduction to Garment Making(Booked online with Hotcourses)

Thoroughly enjoyed this workshop, Helen was lovely and so helpful. Amazed that I made a wearable garment! Came from there confident to attempt my own project.

intro to garment making

 

by suzanne - May 2015

Introduction to Garment Making(Booked online with Hotcourses)

Well organised, welcoming, friendly. The fabric provided was lovely and I was amazed at the top produced. Having never used a pattern or made any clothes, in one day a top was created thats neckline had pleats too. Highly recommended.

 

Intro to quilting

by Susan - May 2015

Really enjoyable day, learnt so much in a friendly environment. Would definitely recommend

Learnt a lot!!

 

by Emma - May 2015

Beginners Sewing Workshop

I attended the beginners class along with my mum and mother in law. All three of us were complete novices and we all left with new sewing skills, a lot more confidence and a completed cushion cover! The studio has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and we had plenty of time to practice and ask lots of questions. Helen was a brilliant teacher! We will definitely be signing up to more of her classes.

 

Patchwork and quilting

by Anne - May 2015

A very enjoyable and useful course- by the end of the session I had learnt all the skills I need for patchwork and quilting. Great supportive tutoring, lots of tips and a friendly atmosphere. I would recommend this course highly.

 

Highly recommended

by Karin - May 2015

Introduction to Patchwork and Quilting

Helen explains and demonstrates each step clearly in an informal and friendly way. The result is that, even as a relative sewing novice, by the end of the day I came away with a decent piece of quilted patchwork. And, more importantly, would be able to replicate what I have learnt on my own. Excellent.

What a lovely day

 

by Mary - May 2015

ntroduction to Patchwork and Quilting

As long as you have basic sewing machine skills this course is for you. Helen is an excellent teacher who paces the course to include everyone. Taught in a relaxed and very friendly style. By the end of the course I am ready to go with enough skills to make a quilt. Can't wait.

 

Beginners Sewing Workshop

by Pamela - April 2015

Really enjoyed it! Learnt alot. Came away fired up wanting to make something using my new skills.

 

The sewing project

by sue - April 2015

A really great course. Even though I've been sewing for years I still learnt loads. Fab venue, great tutor. Really friendly and relaxed. I can't wait to sign up for more.

 

intermediate sweing -great course!

by Anne - April 2015

Part time Sewing for Beginners Tuesday Evening(Booked online with Hotcourses)

very good 6 week course- enough time to create a garment with Helen's skillful support. I managed to practise many useful skills and enjoyed the company of the other members of the group. I would recommend this course highly.